Race Report: CCCX #2 Seaside Course, E4 3/2/13

CCCX #2 Seaside Course, E4
 
7th of 16
Teammates: Kyle Lufer – 2nd
 
This race day was my first hard day of sustained efforts in about two weeks.  This is a rolling course out and back with 180 u-turns at the ends.  With not much happening throughout the race I experimented with various lines through the nice and wide U-turns.  I decided that in definitely would take the inside line on the final U-turn before the last climb to the finish.  Not much too report in the race early.  With 1 lap to go Kyle got out in the first break of the day, it looked like a 4 man group from where I sat.  I just sat in and waited to see if the catch would happen, which is did just at the opposite end turn around.  This meant the field was together until the finish.  I moved up on the run back to the final U-turn, picking times that did not require huge efforts.  I was able to get to exactly where I wanted to be at the last turn, inside and sitting 2nd.  I’m pretty sure Kyle was on my wheel at this point.  The acceleration came immediately from the lead rider (eventual winner).  Kyle came around me at this point.  I was able to hold Kyle’s wheel until about 100m (almost exactly based on the Garmin) to go when I cracked hard and 3 riders picked me off before the line. 

 

Leave a comment